Introduction

26 Jan

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog about asexuality and the experiences that I have being an asexual person since December, and it’s taken me a while to come up with a name. “ace space” was actually already taken (there were pictures of cows, when I checked), so while “asexual space” doesn’t have the benefit of rhyming, it was available, and accomplishes nearly the same thing. I suspect most people will read the link as A Sexual Space, though.

The idea of writing about asexuality alternatively fills me with excitement and dread. I do have things I want to muse on. While my friends who know about it are supportive, it’s not quite the same as discussing asexuality with someone who really understands where you’re coming from. In that vein, this isn’t really going to be a 101 space, partially because writing 101 makes me feel like shit. An emotion which I may eventually talk about.

The dread comes at the thought of violating my standard operating procedure of being relatively silent in public spaces. Since I’m not a very talkative person, and since I know (and I don’t even know them that well) a grand total of two asexual people, I’m hoping this blog will help me get more comfortable with myself. Which hasn’t really been a problem before, but some recent gender revelations have put me in a position where I know I’ll need to go to therapy at some point in the near future. I want to have explored some more stuff before I go in.

And, now that I’m older, I’m noticing things about the world that I didn’t notice in seventh grade. Such as the lack of asexual literature out there, which made me flounder a bit when I went looking. I’m not really an AVEN person, for a variety of reasons, and as horrifying as the prospect of putting myself into a public arena is, I would like to be a part of the asexual community. I think this is a decent way to do it.

6 Responses to “Introduction”

  1. Andrew March 1, 2011 at 12:55 AM #

    With the url for my blog, I’ve long wondered if people might read it as “a sexy stuff” and then be vaguely confused about the “a”

    • ace eccentric March 2, 2011 at 8:57 PM #

      Heh. I pretty much read anything “asex” as relating to asexuality now, but I bet there are some people who will see the URL and be confused. Probably not too many. Especially if they click it and see the site.

  2. maddox March 2, 2011 at 8:07 PM #

    As someone who has also just recently taken the leap of faith into the active pollution of the blogosphere, congrats! There’s even a Wiki definition for what I used to be.

    • ace eccentric March 2, 2011 at 9:02 PM #

      Thank you! :) Heh. I am definitely familiar with that term (oh, fandom). Lurking can give you a good feel for how a site or community operates before you join in, at least.

  3. Meike March 19, 2011 at 8:39 PM #

    Hey, thanks for subscribing to my blog! I also hear you on the being-silent-in-public-spaces-ness. I’m so glad you made the leap though, because now I know that one more asexual person is out and about in the blogosphere. That makes me indescribably happy. :)

    • ace eccentric March 19, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

      :) I had planned to start looking through it after Maddox updated NN’s blogroll when I asked about other gender blogs, and I was reminded about it when you responded to my comment over there.

      And thank you! It’s nice to come back to this post, actually, and be reminded of why I started writing. Even though it hasn’t been long since I began.

Leave a Reply

